Terry Slocum

Terry Slocum
Immediate Past President

University of Kansas
Department of Geography
1475 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045


Terry A. Slocum is an Associate Professor in the Department of Geography at the University of Kansas, where he chaired the department from 2003 to 2009. During his tenure as chair, the department expanded from 15 to 22 faculty members. Professor Slocum’s research interests have included visualizing data uncertainty, data exploration, map animation, and stereographic displays. Recent publications in which he served as lead author have included "Evaluating the Usability of a Tool for Visualizing the Uncertainty of the Future Global Water Balance," (2003, Cartography and Geographic Information Science), "Recent and Ongoing Developments in Cartography," (2004, ACSM Bulletin), "A Qualitative Evaluation of MapTime, a Program for Exploring Spatiotemporal Point Data," (2004, Cartographica), and "Evaluating the Potential of the GeoWall for Geographic Education," (2007, Journal of Geography). Professor Slocum also has published in numerous other refereed outlets, including the Annals of the Association of American Geographers, The Professional Geographer, and The Cartographic Journal. He is lead author of the cartographic textbook Thematic Cartography and Geovisualization (2009; now in its third edition).  From 1999 to 2002, Professor Slocum served as editor of Cartography and Geographic Information Science. He was editor of the 1995 U.S. National Report to the International Cartographic Association, which was published as a special issue of Cartography and Geographic Information Systems. From 1991 to 1994, he was Software Review Editor for Cartography and Geographic Information Systems. Professor Slocum has been involved in numerous grants, including two from the National Science Foundation, and has received two Teacher Appreciation Awards from the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) at the University of Kansas.  He has chaired twelve dissertation and theses committees and served on more than fifty dissertation and thesis committees.